stageopk.blogg.se

Virtualbox increase disk size centos
Virtualbox increase disk size centos





While I formatted the Extended partition to include the new size I had deleted the Swap partition altogether.

virtualbox increase disk size centos virtualbox increase disk size centos virtualbox increase disk size centos

In the beginning I had 10GB and then I increased it to 30GB following the steps here: $ sudo lvextend /dev/centos/root /dev/sda2 -l+21504Īnd then expand the root filesystem so that it could make use of this extra space:Īfter this the guest OS recognized that it had extra space, and filling up this space causing a corresponding growth in the size of the virtual hard disk on the host OS.I have an Ubuntu 16.04 LTS installed as a VM on my VirtualBOx. The centos VG and the sda2 PV had already registered the extra storage I'd allocated, but all that was left was to allocate that extra space to the root LV (21504 is the number of free physical extents (PEs) that I got from vgdisplay): Sda2 is a physical volume in that volume group:Īnd root is a logical volume in that volume group, along with swap: Using LVM terminology, centos is a volume group: We set it as a VirtualBox Disk Image with 20GB of space that is. My filesystem uses Logical Volume Management (LVM), which I have never worked with before, and so I didn't know how to properly handle it. This will be the HDD that your VM will use. Could this be causing the issue, or is this normal? If it is normal, any ideas as to why VirtualBox won't expand the VHD? CentOS lists /dev/sda1 and /dev/mapper/centos-root, which is a link to /dev/dm-0, while GParted lists /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2. 200 GB VBoxManage modifyhd CentOS7. There seems to be a discrepancy between the devices my guest OS reports and what partitions GParted reports. The first time I tried to fill up the space, when I restarted the VM after filling it up, the VHD file on my host did increase by about 1GB, however it won't expand any more now. However when I fill up all of this space on the guest OS (by writing a long seq into a file), the drive not does automatically expand. The actual size of the VHD right now is still 14.4GB. So VirtualBox recognizes that the VHD can go up to 100GB and sda2 takes up most of that space. Then I used GParted to expand the sda2 partition so that it took up the extra space. But first I have 3 HD in my desktop (240GB SSD, 160GB HDD and 80GB HDD) and I dont remember where I have install the VB so I need to know what to type to list the contents of each disk.

virtualbox increase disk size centos

While working on a project I realized that I would need much more space, so I used VBoxManage to increase the maximum to 100GB. New to command line in Linux Cinnamon 20.1 but I want to increase the disk size in my VirtualBox 6.1 from 10GB to 30 GB and Im lost with the command line. I'm working on a 64-bit CentOS 7 VM on my Windows 10 host, and I have a dynamically-allocated VHD that is giving me problems.Īt first, the VHD's maximum size was set to 16GB, functionally about 14.4 usable.







Virtualbox increase disk size centos